Skip to main content
GDPR Kit CIAM Buyer's Guide Contact Us
Janrain respects your privacy and will treat the personal data you choose to share with us in accordance with our privacy statement.

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy statement


Mobile Menu

New One-Click Sharing Features from Janrain

By Michael Olson | Posted on October 11, 2012

We have been hard at work for the past few months and are very excited to announce the release of new one-click sharing capabilities for Janrain Engage. If you are currently using generic social sharing buttons on your site or evaluating alternatives, we’ve launched a first of its kind tool within our suite of social sharing features to help you drive lots of quality referral traffic to your site from social networks.

Built using Facebook’s Open Graph technology, our one-click sharing features help websites increase exposure of their site content within Facebook, while addressing the privacy concerns that Facebook users have expressed over automatic sharing from social readers. Essentially, the feature puts users in direct control of how they share stories and other content with transparent messaging, the option to turn automatic sharing on or off at any time, and a countdown timer for auto shares.

You can see the feature in action at Click to read an article, and scroll down to the bottom of the article to interact with the one-click sharing widget.

Here is an overview of what’s new:

Contextual One-Click Sharing

Let users click a button to easily share contextual activities from your site in a single click, such as articles read, videos watched, products liked and more. Define actions within the share button based on the content of your site.

i read this

Optional Frictionless or Automatic Sharing

Users can choose to turn on frictionless sharing at any time, which automatically shares content that users interact with to Facebook. The feature offers a clear, transparent opt-in and allows users to toggle automatic sharing on or off as they desire.

this story has been added to your timeline

Countdown Timer Respects User Privacy and Transparency

For users who have turned on automatic sharing, a configurable countdown timer alerts users before content is shared to Facebook. Users can conditionally opt out of sharing the message, or choose to un-share any content that has been published to Facebook.

gabe grayum

Easy Implementation

Deployment of one-click sharing is quick and easy – if you’re a Janrain customer, you can be up and running in an hour or less. Simply log in to your Janrain Engage dashboard or navigate to our product documentation to start using it.

This launch is a big step forward toward solving the privacy and transparency concerns that have hindered the popularity of social readers and frictionless sharing technology. We’re very excited to bring these new features to you, and as always, we welcome your feedback.

Here’s what the media has to say:

Popular Posts

About the author

Michael Olson

Senior Product Marketing Manager

Michael Olson joined Janrain more than five and a half years ago and has experienced the explosive growth of the digital marketing technology landscape. Previously, he managed demand generation programs at Janrain. Currently, as the Senior Product Marketing Manager, Michael drives go-to-market strategy for product launches as well as positioning and messaging to communicate the value of customer profile management solutions to companies. Michael's writing has been featured in publications such as GigaOM, Adotas and iMedia Connection.

View all posts by Michael Olson